Distinguished Publication of Psychotherapy Research

2013 Award Recipient

Dr. Michael Constantino


Michael Constantino

Michael Constantino and Holly Laws (and others) for their 2012 published article, The Relation between Changes in Patients  interpersonal Impact Messages and Outcome in Treatment  for Chronic  Depression, Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 80,(3), 354-364.

Michael J. Constantino, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Massachusetts Amherst where he directs his Psychotherapy Research Lab, teaches graduate and undergraduate courses on theories and techniques of psychotherapy, supervises clinicians-in-training, and maintains a small private psychotherapy practice with adult outpatients. Dr. Constantino’s primary scientific contributions include: (1) the investigation of patient, therapist, and relational processes that influence psychosocial treatments, (2) the development and testing of effective therapeutic interventions that address pantheoretical principles of clinical change, (3) the conduct of effectiveness research in psychotherapy training clinics, and (4) the interface of social and clinical psychology in the service of establishing clinical practice guidelines. Dr. Constantino has published both theoretical and empirical work in leading journals and books in the field, and he has received both internal and external grant support for his research. Dr. Constantino’s work has been recognized internationally, including with his receipt of the American Psychological Foundation’s 2007 Division 29 (Psychotherapy) Early Career Award, the Society for the Exploration of Psychotherapy Integration’s (SEPI) 2007 New Researcher Award, the Society for Psychotherapy Research’s (SPR) 2010 Outstanding Early Career Achievement Award, and fellow status (awarded in 2009) in the American Psychological Association (APA) and Division 29 of APA. Among many positions served, Dr. Constantino is a former Early Career Domain Representative to the Division 29 Board of Directors, and he is currently the President of the North American Society for Psychotherapy Research. Dr. Constantino is a Contributing Editor for Psychotherapy Bulletin and the Journal of Psychotherapy Integration. He is also a Consulting Editor for Psychotherapy, Psychotherapy Research, the Journal of Unified Psychotherapy and Clinical Science, the Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, the Journal of Clinical Psychology: In Session, and the Journal of Psychotherapy Integration.

 Award for Distinguished Publication of Psychotherapy Research

Division 29 and John Wiley & Sons, Inc. sponsor an award for the Distinguished Publication of Psychotherapy Research. This award recognizes the best empirical (i.e., data-based) published peer reviewed article on psychotherapy in the preceding calendar year.

The criteria for receipt of this award are as follows:

  • Article relevant to psychotherapy practice appears in any journal (does not have to appear in the Division’s journal) in the preceding calendar year
  • The paper reflects as strong scientific contribution, evidence through the rationale for the study and theoretical soundness, the methods, the analyses, the explanation of the results, and the discussion of the implications of the findings for the practice and science of psychotherapy
  • The article contributes new knowledge about psychotherapy (e.g., the work is innovative, creative, or integrative; the work advances existing research in a meaningful way) – greater weight is given to novel/creative element than to methodological/statistical rigor

There are no application materials, since decisions for the award are based on published articles.

Award recipients receive an honorarium of $500, and an award plaque, both of which are given to the lead author only, at the Division’s Awards Ceremony at the APA Convention.

Deadline for nominations for this award is April 1st of each year.

The letter of nomination must be emailed to the Research Committee Chair Dr. Cheri Marmarosh at cmarmarosh@gmail.com.

Previous Recipients

2010 – Antonio Pascual-Leone. (2009). Dynamic emotional processing in experiential therapy: Two steps forward, one step back. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 77, 113-126.

2009 – Michelle Newman, Louis Castonguay, Thomas Borkovec, Aaron Fisher, & Samuel Nordberg. (2008). An open trial of integrative therapy for generalized anxiety disorder. Psychotherapy: Theory, Research, Practice, Training, 45, 135-147.

2008 – Scott A Baldwin, Bruce E. Wampold & Zac E. Imel (2008). Untangling the alliance-outcome correlation: Exploring the relative importance of therapist and patient variability in the alliance. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 75, 842-852.

2007 – No award given

2006 – No award given

2005 – No award given

2004 – No award given

2003 – Charles Gelso & Daniela Ligiero for Countertransference, Attachment, and the Working Alliance: The Therapist’s Contribution.

2002 – Linda A Travis, Jeffery L Binder, Nancy G Bliwise, & H. Lynn Horne-Moyer for Changes in Client’s Attachment Styles over the Course of Time-Limited Dynamic Psychotherapy