Donald K. Freedheim Student Development Paper Award

2016 Winning Paper

Title: Clients’ Perceptions of Personal Psychotherapy for Therapists”
Author: Amanda Zold
Institution: UAA-UAF

Enter the Annual Division of Psychotherapy Student Paper Competition

Annual Deadline is April 1

The Donald K. Freedheim Student Development Award for the best paper on psychotherapy theory, practice, or research.

What are the benefits to you?
  • Cash prize of $500 for the winner.
  • Enhance your curriculum vitae and gain national recognition.
  • Plaque and check presented at the Division 29 Awards Ceremony at the annual meeting of the American Psychological Association.
  • Abstract will be published in the Psychotherapy Bulletin, the official publication of the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy.
What are the requirements?
  • Papers must be based on work conducted by the first author during his/her graduate studies. Papers can be based on (but are not restricted to) a Masters thesis or a doctoral dissertation.
  • Papers should be in APA style, not to exceed 25 pages in length (including tables, figures, and references) and should not list the authors’ names or academic affiliations.
  • Please include a title page as part of a separate attached MS-Word or PDF document so that the papers can be judged “blind.” This page can include authors’ names and academic affiliations.
  • Also include a cover letter as part of a separate attached MS-Word or PDF document. The cover letter should attest that the paper is based on work that the first author conducted while in graduate school. It should also include the first author’s mailing address, telephone number, and e-mail address.
  • All applicants must be members of the Division of Psychotherapy. Join the Division at
  • Applicant must specify for which award he/she is applying. Applicants can submit multiple papers for awards, but an individual paper may only be submitted for a single award.
Submissions should be emailed to:

Nicholas Morrison, Chair, Student Development Committee, The Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy E-mail:

Download the PDF  for the Annual Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy Student Paper Competition

Student Competition 2017


Previous Winners

2015 – Marilyn A. Cornish, PhD, paper completed during doctoral studies at Iowa State University, “Working Through Past Wrongdoing: Examination of a Self-Forgiveness Counseling Intervention”

2014 – Jenny H. Lotterman, Teachers College, Columbia University, “Erotic Feelings Toward the Therapist: A Relational Perspective”

2013 – Alexey Tolchinsky, George Washington University, “Acute Trauma In Adulthood in The Context of Childhood Traumatic Experiences”

2012 – Rebecca M. Ametrano, University of Massachusetts -Amherst, “Patient Outcome Expectations and Credibility Beliefs as Predictors of the Alliance and Treatment Outcome”

2011 – Jenelle Slavin-Mulford, MA, The Derner Institute of Advanced Psychological Studies, Adelphi University ”Therapeutic Interventions Related to Outcome in Psychodynamic Psychotherapy for Anxiety Disorder Patients”

2010 – Rebecca Stewart

2009 – no award given

2008 – Joshua K Swift, MS, Oklahoma State University, The Impact of Client Treatment Preferences on Outcome: A Meta-Analysis

2007 – Jesse A Metzger, Teachers College, Columbia University, “The Relationship Between Patients’ Representations of Therapists and Parents”

2006 – LaTanya A. Carter, M.A., Michigan State University

2005 – LaRicka R. Wingate

2003 and 2004 – No awards given

2002 – Susan S Woodhouse

2001 – Mary L. Malik, U of California, Santa Barbara

2000 – Jonathan Mohr, U. of Maryland, College Park

1999 – Georgios K Lampropoulos

1994 – 1st Place: Benjamin Johnson, Yale University

Hon. Mention: William A Hoganm Indiana State U

Jessica Beth Londa, Vanderbilt U.

William KJ. Lamb, U.C. Berkeley

1991 – 1st Place: Steven Herman, Rutgers U. “Therapist-client similarity as a predictor of psychotherapy outcome”

2nd Place: Maureen Corbet, U of Maryland. “A brief history of research on the process of individual psychotherapy”