The APF/Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy Career Award


This program supports the mission of APA’s Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy (Division 29) by recognizing Society members who have demonstrated outstanding promise in the field of psychotherapy early in their career.

Funding Specifics

One $1,000 award.

Eligibility Requirements

Nominees should be:

  1. A member of the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy.
  2. Be within 10 years post-doctorate

Evaluation Criteria

Nominees will be rated on accomplishment and achievement related to psychotherapy theory, practice, research, or training.

Nomination Requirements

  1. Nomination letter written by a colleague outlining the nominee’s career contributions (self-nominations not acceptable).
  2. A current Curriculum Vitae.

Submission Process & Deadline

Submission Process: Nominations must be submitted online:

Submission Deadline: December 31.

Please See This Website for More Information

Questions about this program should be directed to Julia Watson, Program Coordinator, at

APF welcomes applicants with diverse backgrounds with respect to age, race, color, religion, creed, nationality, disability, sexual orientation, gender, and geography.

The APF/Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy Career Award

2023 Recipient: Simon Goldberg, PhD

Dr. Goldberg is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Counseling Psychology and Core Faculty at the Center for Healthy Minds at the University of Wisconsin – Madison. He conducts research on psychotherapy, with a specific emphasis on the effects of and mechanisms underlying meditation- and mindfulness-based interventions. He is currently completing a 5-year, NIH-funded K23 award focused on the delivery of meditation training through mobile health technology. He was the recipient of the Society’s prestigious 50th Anniversary Research Grant, a one-time grant of $30,000 given in 2018.  He has clinical experience working with military veterans and conducts research on veteran mental health. He has served on the editorial board for the Journal of Counseling Psychology, Psychotherapy, and Psychotherapy Research.

The APF/Division 29 Early Career Award

Previous Recipients

2022- Xu Li, Ph.D

2021- Lorenzo Lorenzo-Luaces

2020 - Josh Turchan

2019 - Sigal Zilcha-Mano

2018 - Catherine Eubanks & Tony Rousmaniere

2017 – Rayna Markin

2016 – Joshua K. Swift & Christian Webb

2015 – Stephanie Budge

2014 – Zac Imel

2013 – James Boswell

2012 – Jesse Owen

2011 – Andres De Los Reyes

2010 – Tami Jo De Coteau

2009 – Katherine Muller

2008 – Kenneth N. Levy

2007 – Michael Constantino

Prior to 2007 the Early Career Award was known as the Krasner Award

2006 – Elizabeth Nutt Williams

2005 – No award given

2004 – Mark Hilsenroth & Matthew Nessetti

2003 – Craig N. Shealy

2002 – No award given

2001 – Jeffrey A. Hayes

2000 – Lisa Firestone

1999 – No award given

1998 – Louis Castonguay

1996 – Abraham W Wolf

1995 – Karen Kovacs-North

1994 – Nadine Kaslow

1993 – Jon Perez

1992 – John Norcross

1991 – Lisa M. Porche-Burke

1990 – Victor R. Nahmias

1989 – Leonard J. Haas

1988 – Alice K. Rubenstein

1987 – No award given

1986 – E. Rita Dudley (Grant)

1985 – Raymond H. DiGiuseppe

1984 – Ronald F. Levant

1983 – Jacquelyn L. Resnick & Gary R. VandenBos

1982 – No award given

1981 – Annette M. Brodsky & Gerald P. Koocher