Fostering and promoting diversity for the benefit of the Society,
and for those with whom we work.


The Diversity domain, through its committee, is responsible for:

  • fostering membership diversity in the activities of The Society,
  • promoting awareness of diversity as defined in the APA Ethics Code, and
  • recommending policies and programs designed to educate in this area.

We welcome your ideas and perspectives as psychotherapists and psychotherapy researchers, educators, supervisors, and trainees with respect to diversity and psychotherapy, and we are continually looking for new members to serve on the committee or to help with our initiatives and programs.

Diversity Domain Representative to the Board of Directors

Manijeh Badiee, Ph.D.


Manijeh Badiee, Ph.D., is a licensed counseling psychologist in California (License# PSY 30484). She has over ten years of experience counseling clients of various backgrounds and specializes in women of color, LGBTQ individuals, and/or adolescents. Currently, she provides therapy services in a private practice setting. She is also an Assistant Professor of Psychology at California State University, San Bernardino. In this role, she teaches undergraduate psychology students as well as graduate students in a clinical counseling Master program. The courses she regularly teaches are relevant to psychotherapy (e.g., Advanced Clinical Seminar and Counseling Theories) as well as to diversity (e.g., Psychology of Women and Cross-Cultural Counseling). Additionally, growing up as a first generation Iranian American immigrant woman in Texas shaped her personal and professional identity. Her immigrant background has made her passionate about social justice and the delivery of multiculturally competent services to all. Her research is on women’s empowerment, with a focus on Iranian and Latina women. She routinely provides presentations on diversity-related topics to community members, students, and faculty. She looks forward to collaborating and serving the Society of Psychotherapy as the Diversity Domain Representative. To learn more about Dr. Badiee, click here: https://search.csusb.edu/profile/MBadiee

Diversity Domain Representative to the Board of Directors

Rosemary Phelps



From the Diversity Domain