Award for Distinguished Contributions to Teaching and Mentoring


The Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy (APA Division 29) invites nominations for its Award for Distinguished Contributions to Teaching and Mentoring, which honors a member of the Society who has contributed to the field of psychotherapy through the education and training of the next generation of psychotherapists.

Funding Specifics

The awardee will receive a cash honorarium of $500 and up to $500 reimbursement for qualified expenses to attend the Society’s Awards Ceremony held at the annual APA Convention.

Eligibility Requirements

  1. Membership in the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy
  2. Contribution to the field of psychotherapy through the education and training of the next generation of psychotherapists
  3. Evidence that the individual exerted a significant impact on the development of students and/or early career psychologists in their careers as psychotherapists

Nomination Requirements

Both self-nominations and nominations of others will be considered.

  1. a letter of nomination describing the individual’s impact, role, and activities as a mentor;
  2. a vitae of the nominee; and,
  3. three letters of reference for the mentor, written by students, former students, and/or colleagues who are early career psychologists. Letters of reference for the award should describe the nature of the mentoring relationship (when, where, level of training), and an explanation of the role played by the mentor in facilitating the student or colleague’s development as a psychotherapist. Letters of reference may include, but are not limited to, discussion of the following behaviors that characterize successful mentoring: providing feedback and support; providing assistance with awards, grants and other funding; helping establish a professional network; serving as a role model in the areas of teaching, research, and/or public service; giving advice for professional development (including graduate school postdoctoral study, faculty, and clinical positions); and treating students/colleagues with respect.

Submission Process & Deadline

Submission Process: All items must be sent electronically in one PDF document. Submit applications to the Chair of the Professional Awards Committee, Dr. Jeffrey Younggren, at [email protected]. Incomplete or late application packets will not be considered.

Submission Deadline: January 31 (midnight).

Award for Distinguished Contributions to Teaching and Mentoring

2019 Recipient: Nan Presser

Dr. Nan Presser is a Clinical Professor at the University of Missouri where she teaches clinical graduate students on Advanced Ethical and Legal Issues and provides supervision and training for clinical psychology doctoral students. She was the Director of the University of Missouri’s Psychological Services Clinic for 10 years and currently serves as the Clinic’s Director of Administration and Training. She has also maintained an active psychotherapy practice throughout her career.

Dr. Presser was awarded her doctorate in psychology from the University of Texas at Austin, and her undergraduate degree from the Ohio State University. She worked previously at Illinois State University as the Coordinator of the Clinical Psychology program and as a Staff Psychologist at the Illinois State Student Counseling Center.

Dr. Presser has been recognized with the University of Missouri’s “Gold Chalk” Award for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring doctoral trainees. She also received the 2018 APA Ethics Educator Award for Outstanding Contributions to Ethics Education and Psychology. Dr. Presser served on the APA Ethics Committee from 2015-2018. Her students have won over a dozen APA awards for outstanding papers on ethical issues.

Award for Distinguished Contributions to Teaching and Mentoring

Previous Recipients

2016 – Charles Gelso

2015 – no award given

2014 – Mark Hilsenroth

2013 – Laura Brown

2011 – Jeffrey E. Barnett

2010 – Louis Castonguay

2009 – Marvin Goldfried

2008 – Mathilda B. Canter