Distinguished Award for the International Advancement of Psychotherapy


Concurrent with the formation of the International Domain and the International Affairs Committee within the Society, this award was established in 2017 in recognition of individuals who have made distinguished contributions to the international advancement of psychotherapy.

Funding Specifics

The awardee will receive a certificate and award of $500 as well as up to $500 reimbursement for qualified expenses to attend the Society’s Awards Ceremony to be held at the annual APA Convention.

Eligibility Requirements

The criteria for receipt of this award are broadly defined as significant and sustained contributions to the international advancement of psychotherapy which is consistent with the international dimension of the Society’s mission, i.e., the Society is an international community of practitioners, scholars, researchers, teachers, health care specialists, and students who are interested in and devoted to the advancement of the practice and science of psychotherapy.

Nomination Requirements

  1. Membership in the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy (including non-APA Affiliate Members who are not members of APA).
  2. Sustained and significant contributions to the international advancement of psychotherapy in practice, research and/or training in psychotherapy.
  3. These contributions must be in the international arena and a significant part of the contribution must be within the division OR the contributions should represent a significant collaboration with individuals from the international community and promotes the ideas and practices of that community.

Application materials should include:

  1. A nomination letter outlining the nominee’s contributions to the international advancement of psychotherapy (self-nominations are welcomed).
  2. Two or more supporting letters.
  3. A current Curriculum Vitae.

Submission Process & Deadline

Submission Process: All items must be sent electronically in one PDF document. Letters of nomination outlining the nominee’s credentials and contributions (along with the nominee’s CV) should be emailed to the Chair of the Professional Awards Committee at SAP.AwardsCommittee@gmail.com

Submission Deadline: December 31 (annually)


Distinguished Award for the International Advancement of Psychotherapy

2022 Recipient: Héctor Fernández-Álvarez

Carol Falender, Ph.D. is co-author/editor of seven books on competency-based clinical supervision and consultation and has presented workshops on clinical supervision, consultation, multicultural supervision, and decolonizing supervision. She directed APA accredited internship programs for over 20 years and was Chair of the Supervision Guidelines Task Force of the American Psychological Association (APA). She was recipient of a Presidential Citation from APA for innovative contributions to the theory and practice of clinical supervision, nationally and internationally and recipient of the 2018 Distinguished Career Contributions to Education and Training in Psychology Award from APA. She has conducted supervision workshops and symposia internationally.  Dr. Falender is a Fellow of APA, Adjunct Professor, Pepperdine University; Clinical Professor, University of California Los Angeles, Psychology Department.

Distinguished Award for the International Advancement of Psychotherapy

Previous Recipients

2022- Héctor Fernández-Álvarez, Ph.D. & Dr. Guangrong Jiang

2021- Fred Leong

2020 – No Award Given

2019 – Robert W. Resnick

2018 – Rod Goodyear