Distinguished Psychologist Award for Contributions to Psychology and Psychotherapy


The APA Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy invites nominations for its 2019 Distinguished Psychologist Award, which recognizes lifetime contributions to psychotherapy, psychology, and the Society.

This award was established in 1970 as the Distinguished Professional Award in Psychology and Psychotherapy. At the Mid Winter meeting in 1984, the Board of Directors changed its name to Distinguished Psychologist Award for Contributions to Psychology and Psychotherapy.

Funding Specifics

The awardee will receive a cash honorarium of $500 and up to $500 reimbursement for qualified expenses to attend the Society’s Awards Ceremony to be held at the annual APA Convention.

Eligibility Requirements

The criteria for receipt of this award are loosely defined and are flexible in order to embrace the breadth of contributions that psychologists/psychotherapists make that distinguish them from their peers.

Evaluation Criteria

However, the following aspects of each candidate are considered in this order:

  1. Length of time of service to psychotherapy
  2. Membership in the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy
  3. Significance of contributions to the practice, research, and/or training in psychotherapy
  4. Significance of contributions to the Society

Nomination Requirements

  1. A nomination letter outlining the nominee’s career contributions (self-nominations are welcomed)
  2. A current Curriculum Vitae.

Submission Process & Deadline

Submission Process: Letters of nomination outlining the nominee’s credentials and contributions (along with the nominee’s CV) should be emailed to Michael Constantino, at [email protected]. Incomplete or late application packets will not be considered.

Submission Deadline: January 31.


Distinguished Psychologist Award for Contributions to Psychology and Psychotherapy

2018 Recipient: Dr. Jacques Barber

Jacques P. Barber, Ph.D., ABPP is Professor and Dean, Gordon F Derner School of Psychology formerly the Institute of Advanced Studies in Psychology at Adelphi University.  He is professor of psychology in the Department of Psychiatry and in the Psychology Graduate Group at the University of Pennsylvania.  He is also Adjunct Professor of Psychiatry at New York University School of Medicine.  He is past president of the International Society for Psychotherapy Research and was a recipient of its early career award in 1996 and its Distinguished Research Career Award in 2014.  He has been visiting professor at the Department of Clinical Neuroscience of the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm.  He is a licensed clinical psychologist in New York and Pennsylvania.

His research focuses on the outcome and process of psychodynamic and cognitive therapies for depression, panic disorder, substance dependence and personality disorders. He has been funded by NIMH and NIDA to conduct randomized clinical trials involving psychodynamic and cognitive therapy.  Guided by conceptual models emphasizing both relational and technical factors, his psychotherapy process research examines the impact of the therapeutic alliance and of therapists’ use of theoretically relevant interventions on the outcome of different therapies.  Outside of treatment research, he has also conducted research on individual core conflicts and metacognitiion in different populations including Children of Holocaust Survivors.  He has published more than 250 papers, chapters and books in the field of psychotherapy and personality.  He is mostly proud of the students and post docs he has mentored during his career.

Among his recent books are “Psychodynamic Therapy: A Guide to Evidence-Based Practice” and “Practicing Psychodynamic Therapy: A Casebook (2014) both with Richard Summers; Visions in Psychotherapy Research and Practice: Reflections from the presidents of the society for psychotherapy research edited with Bernhard Strauss and Louis Georges Castonguay.  "Echoes of the Trauma: Relationship Themes and Emotions in the Narratives of the Children of Holocaust Survivors" co-authored with Hadas Wiseman, and The Therapeutic Alliance: An Evidence-Based Approach to Practice, co-edited with Christopher Muran. 

Distinguished Psychologist Award for Contributions to Psychology and Psychotherapy

Previous Recipients

2017 - William B. Stiles 

2016 – Jeffrey J. Magnavita

2015 – Douglas Snyder

2014 – Lorna Smith Benjamin

2013 – Les Greenberg

2012 – Paul L. Wachtel

2011 – Jack C. Anchin

2010 – Jeffrey E. Barnett & Judith Jordan

2009 – Norine Johnson & Jon Carlson

2008 – Bruce E. Wampold

2007 – Gary VandenBos & Carol Goodheart

2006 – Louis Castonguay

2005 – Gerald Koocher

2004 – John C. Norcross & Wade H Silverman

2003 – Clara Hill & Charles J Gelso

2002 – Ronald F. Levant & Frank Dattillio

2001 – Lenore E Walker & Michael J Lambert

2000 – Marvin R Goldfried & Linda F Campbell

1999 – Ellen McGrath

1998 – David Orlinsky

1997 – Alvin R. Mahrer

1996 – Norman Abeles & Alice K. Rubenstein

1995 – Stanley Moldawsky & Harry Sands

1994 – Rachel Hare-Mustin

1993 – Patrick H. DeLeon

1992 – Arnold A Lazarus

1991 – Donald K. Freedheim

1990 – Tommy T. Stigall

1989 – Jack G. Wiggins

1988 – Ernst G. Beier

1987 – Mathilda B. Canter

1986 – Ronald E. Fox

1985 – Stanley R. Graham

1984 – Robert A. Harper

1983 – Herbert J. Freudenberger

1982 – Arthur L. Kovacs

1981 – Carl N. Zimet

1980 – Jules Barron

1979 – Max Siegel

1978 – Jack D. Krasner

1977 – Gordon F. Derner

1976 – Nicholas A. Cummings

1975 – Sidney Jourard (Posthumous Award)

1974 – Haim Ginott (Posthumous Award)

1973 – Albert Ellis & Hans H. Strupp

1972 – Carl R. Rogers

1971 – Victor Raimy

1970 – Eugene T. Gendlin