Early Career Award

2016 Award Recipients

Drs. Joshua K. Swift 

Dr. Joshua Swift

Joshua K. Swift, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology at Idaho State University where he provides supervision and mentoring for graduate and undergraduate students. He is also an Idaho state Licensed Psychologist. He graduated with a degree in clinical psychology from Oklahoma State University, completed a pre-doctoral internship at SUNY Upstate Medical University, and held a previous faculty position in the Department of Psychology at the University of Alaska Anchorage. Dr. Swift and his lab conduct psychotherapy process and outcome research, primarily focusing on the client variables in psychotherapy, premature termination, and therapist training and supervision.

Christian Webb, PhD

Dr. Christian Webb

Christian Webb received his B.A. at McGill University in Psychology and Philosophy and his Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology at the University of Pennsylvania, working under the mentorship of Drs. Robert DeRubeis, Martin Seligman and Jacques Barber. He is currently an Instructor at Harvard Medical School and Assistant Neuroscientist at McLean Hospital. He has received several awards and fellowships for his research on the etiology and treatment of depression, including a NARSAD Young Investigator Award, a Klingenstein Third Generation Foundation Adolescent Depression Fellowship, and both an NIMH F32 National Research Service Award (NRSA) and a Career Development (K23) Award.



About the American Psychological Foundation (APF)

APF provides financial support for innovative research and programs that enhance the power of psychology to elevate the human condition and advance human potential both now and in generations to come.

Since 1953, APF has supported a broad range of scholarships and grants for students and early career psychologists as well as research and program grants that use psychology to improve people’s lives.

APF encourages applications from individuals who represent diversity in race, ethnicity, gender, age, disability, and sexual orientation.

About the Division 29 Early Career Award

This program supports the mission of APA’s Division of Psychotherapy (Division 29) by recognizing Division members who have demonstrated outstanding promise in the field of psychotherapy early in their career.


One $2,500 award

Eligibility Requirements & Evaluation Criteria

Nominees should demonstrate and will be rated on the following dimensions:

  • Division 29 membership
  • Within 10 years post-doctorate
  • Demonstrated accomplishment and achievement related to psychotherapy theory, practice, research or training
  • Conformance with stated program goals and qualifications

Nomination Requirements

  • Nomination letter written by a colleague outlining the nominee’s career contributions (self-nominations not acceptable)
  • Current CV
  • Nomination must be submitted as a single PDF document

Submission Process and Deadline

Submit a completed application online at http://forms.apa.org/apf/grants/ by January 1 of each year.

Please be advised that APF does not provide feedback to applicants on their proposals.

Questions about this program should be directed to Samantha Edington, Program Officer, at sedington@apa.org.

Previous Recipients

2015 – Stephanie Budge

2014 – Zac Imel

2013 – James Boswell

2012 – Jesse Owen

2011 – Andres De Los Reyes

2010 – Tami Jo De Coteau

2009 – Katherine Muller

2008 – Kenneth N. Levy

2007- Michael Constantino

Prior to 2007 the Early Career Award was known as the Krasner Award

2006 – Elizabeth Nutt Williams

2005 –No award given

2004 – Mark Hilsenroth & Matthew Nessetti

2003 – Craig N. Shealy

2002 – No award given

2001 – Jeffrey A. Hayes

2000 – Lisa Firestone

1999 – No award given

1998 – Louis Castonguay

1996 – Abraham W Wolf

1995 – Karen Kovacs-North

1994 – Nadine Kaslow

1993 – Jon Perez1992 – John Norcross

1991 – Lisa M. Porche-Burke

1990 – Victor R. Nahmias

1989 – Leonard J. Haas

1988 – Alice K. Rubenstein

1987 – No award given

1986 – E. Rita Dudley (Grant)

1985 – Raymond H, DiGiuseppe

1984 – Ronald F. Levant

1983 – Jacquelyn L. Resnick & Gary R. VandenBos

1982 – No award given

1981 – Annette M. Brodsky & Gerald P. Koocher