Rosalee G. Weiss Award

2015 Award Recipient

Dr. Beverly Greene

Dr. Beverly Greene

Dr. Beverly Greene

Dr. Greene was awarded a Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from the Derner Institute of Adelphi University, and was a Doctoral Fellow in Mental Retardation at the Mental Retardation Institute of New York Medical College in Valhalla, New York. She has served on the editorial boards of numerous scholarly journals and is the author of nearly 100 publications in the psychological literature.  Nine of those publications have received national awards as significant contributions to the psychological literature on women, women of color, sexual minorities, African American women and families. She is the founding co-editor of the APA Div. 44 book series Psychological Perspectives on Lesbian, Gay & Bisexual Issues.  She is also the recipient of numerous national awards that include the 1996 Outstanding Leadership Award from the APA Committee on Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Concerns; 2000 APA Society for the Psychology of Women Heritage Award; 2003 APA Committee on Women in Psychology Distinguished Leadership Award;2004 Award for Distinguished Senior Career Contributions to Ethnic Minority Research(APA Division 45); 2005 Stanley Sue Award for Distinguished  Professional Contributions to Diversity in Clinical Psychology (APA Division 12); 2006  Helms Award for Scholarship and Mentoring (TC, Columbia Univ Cross Cultural Roundtable); 2006 Florence Halpern Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Clinical Psychology (APA Division 12); 2007  Distinguished Scientific Contributions to LGB Psychology Award (APA Division 44); 2007 Distinguished Career Award (Assn for Women in Psych); 2008 Carolyn Wood Sherif Award (APA Division 35); 2009 Distinguished Contributions to Psychology in the Public Interest Senior Career Award (APA).

A Fellow of 7 divisions of APA (9, 12, 29, 35, 42, 44, & 45),  she has served in many leadership positions in the association and currently serves on the Division 29 Board of Directors, the Division 35 Executive Board, the Association’s  Policy and Planning Board and a representative of Division 44 to the APA Council of Representatives.

Rosalee G. Weiss Lecture Award

The Rosalee G. Weiss Award is a joint award, bestowed by the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy and Division of Independent Practice in alternate years and administered by the American Psychological Foundation (APF). It was established in 1994 by Raymond A. Weiss, Ph.D., to honor his wife, Rosalee.

The criteria for receipt of this award are as follows:

  • Outstanding leader in arts or science whose contributions have significance for psychology, but whose careers are not  directly in the spheres encompassed by psychology
  • Outstanding leaders in any of the special areas within the spheres of psychology

Award recipients receive an $1000 honorarium from the APF.

Deadline for nominations for this award should be submitted to by January 1 of each year.

Questions about this award should be directed to the Chair of the Professional Awards Committee, Dr. Jeffrey Zimmerman,

Previous Recipients

2013 – Jeffrey E. Barnett*

2012 – Robert Brooks

2011 – Nadine Kaslow*

2010 – John Dovidio

2009 – Barbara Van Dahlen Romberg*

2008 – Alan Entin

2007 – Derald Wing Sue*

2006 – Olivia M. Espin

2005 – Marvin Goldfried*

2004 – Nancy McWilliams

2003 – John C. Norcross*

2002 – Lillian Comas-Dias

2001 – James Prochaska*

2000 – Andrea Farkas Patenauda

1999 – Larry Beutler*

1998 – Bert Karon

1997 – Ellen McGrath

1996 – Peter E Nathan

1995 – Donald R Peterson

1994 – Asher Pacht

*Division 29 selections