Rosalee G. Weiss Award


The Rosalee G. Weiss Award is a joint award, bestowed by the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy and Division of Independent Practice in alternate years and administered by the American Psychological Foundation (APF). It was established in 1994 by Raymond A. Weiss, Ph.D., to honor his wife, Rosalee.

The criteria for receipt of this award are as follows:

  • Outstanding leader in arts or science whose contributions have significance for psychology, but whose careers are not directly in the spheres encompassed by psychology
  • Outstanding leaders in any of the special areas within the spheres of psychology

Award recipients receive an $1000 honorarium from the APF.

Deadline for nominations for this award should be submitted to by January 1 of each year.

Questions about this award should be directed to the Chair of the Professional Awards Committee, Dr. Jeffrey Zimmerman,

2017 Recipient

Dr. Jean Carter

Rosalee G. Weiss Award


Previous Recipients

2015 – Beverly Greene

2013 – Jeffrey E. Barnett*

2012 – Robert Brooks

2011 – Nadine Kaslow*

2010 – John Dovidio

2009 – Barbara Van Dahlen Romberg*

2008 – Alan Entin

2007 – Derald Wing Sue*

2006 – Olivia M. Espin

2005 – Marvin Goldfried*

2004 – Nancy McWilliams

2003 – John C. Norcross*

2002 – Lillian Comas-Dias

2001 – James Prochaska*

2000 – Andrea Farkas Patenauda

1999 – Larry Beutler*

1998 – Bert Karon

1997 – Ellen McGrath

1996 – Peter E Nathan

1995 – Donald R Peterson

1994 – Asher Pacht

*Division 29 selections