Student Resources • Development Committee

Meet the student members who build community and advocate students’ perspective among practitioners and scholars of psychotherapy


Welcome to the Student Portal!

My name is Nicholas Morrison, and I am a graduate student pursuing a Ph.D. in clinical psychology at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. I am excited and privileged to serve the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy and its student members as the Chair of the Student Development Committee for the 2017 – 2018 term.

In addition to the Committee’s standing responsibilities, I am interested in facilitating initiatives related to bridging the gaps between areas related to research and practice, especially as training programs continue to push for an emphasis on one or the other. Additionally, I am interested in advocating for students who hope to engage in career-related objectives outside of traditional research and practice, including those interested in policy formation, administration, and other areas in which students have likely received less intensive training. I hope that by fostering dialogues in these areas not often adequately addressed in training programs that the next generation of mental health professionals can more adequately discuss these important issues.

Student members are welcome and encouraged to join and connect via the student listserv, which is the hub of communication for all things related to students in Division 29. I also encourage you to reach out to me personally to learn more about becoming involved in the Student Development Committee and Division 29!

Division 29 Student Development Committee 2018


Nicholas Morrison, University of Massachusetts 

Committee Members

Sara Beth Austin, Simon Fraser University

Alyssa Clements, University of Kentucky

Ryan Ebersole, University at Albany, State University of New York

Jade Hollan, University of Kentucky

Benjamin Johnson, The Pennsylvania State University

Kathryn Kline, University of Maryland

Lauren Lipner, Adelphi University

Joanna Maung, University of Missouri

Heather Muir, University of Massachusetts

Jen Oswald, University at Albany, State University of New York