Jeffrey E. Barnett Psychotherapy Research Paper Award

2015 Winning Paper

Title: Do Psychotherapists Improve with Time and Experience? An Analysis of Real World Outcome Data
First Author: Simon B. Goldberg
Institution: University of Wisconsin

Enter the Annual Division of Psychotherapy Student Paper Competition

Annual Deadline is April 1

The Jeffrey E. Barnett Psychotherapy Research Paper Award for the best paper that addresses psychotherapist factors that may impact treatment effectiveness and outcomes, to include type of training, amount of training, professional degree or discipline of the psychotherapist, and the role of psychotherapists’ personal characteristics.

What are the benefits to you?
  • Cash prize of $500 for the winner.
  • Enhance your curriculum vitae and gain national recognition.
  • Plaque and check presented at the Division 29 Awards Ceremony at the annual meeting of the American Psychological Association.
  • Abstract will be published in the Psychotherapy Bulletin, the official publication of the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy.
What are the requirements?
  • Papers must be based on work conducted by the first author during his/her graduate studies. Papers can be based on (but are not restricted to) a Masters thesis or a doctoral dissertation.
  • Papers should be in APA style, not to exceed 25 pages in length (including tables, figures, and references) and should not list the authors’ names or academic affiliations.
  • Please include a title page as part of a separate attached MS-Word or PDF document so that the papers can be judged “blind.” This page can include authors’ names and academic affiliations.
  • Also include a cover letter as part of a separate attached MS-Word or PDF document. The cover letter should attest that the paper is based on work that the first author conducted while in graduate school. It should also include the first author’s mailing address, telephone number, and e-mail address.
  • All applicants must be members of the Division of Psychotherapy. Join the Division at
  • Applicant must specify for which award he/she is applying. Applicants can submit multiple papers for awards, but an individual paper may only be submitted for a single award.
Submissions should be emailed to:

Nicholas Morrison, Chair, Student Development Committee, The Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy E-mail:

Download the PDF  for the Annual Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy Student Paper Competition

Student Competition 2017


Previous Winners

2014 – Harold Chui, University of Maryland, “In the Mood? Therapist Affect and Psychotherapy Process”

2013 – Lily A. Brown, University of California, Los Angeles, California, ”CBT Competence in Novice Therapists Improves Anxiety Outcomes”.  Additional Authors: Michelle G. Craske, Ph.D., Daniel E. Glenn, M.A., Murray B. Stein, M.D., M.P.H., Greer Sullivan, M.D., MSPH., Cathy Sherbourne, Ph.D., Alexander Bystritsky, M.D., Stacy S. Welch, Ph.D., Laura Campbell-Sills, Ph.D., Ariel Lang, Ph.D., M.P.H., Peter Roy-Byrne, M.D., Raphael D. Rose, Ph.D.

2012 -Erkki Heinonen, University of Helsinki, ”Therapists’ professional and personal characteristics as predictors of outcome in short- and long term-psychotherapy”

2011 – Laura Athey-Lloyd, MS, Long Island University, ”Interaction Structures Between a Child and Two Therapists in the Psychodynamic Treatment of a Child with Asperger’s Disorder”